Arizona Methods Workshops


Claude Rubinson's QCA Workshop

Professor Jennifer Earl with a workshop

Data coding and analysis

Workshop participants socializing

Professor Al Bergesen and
Department Head Erin Leahey

Professor Corey Abramson's Qualitative
Data Analysis workshop

Professor Joe Galaskiewicz with Sondra Barringer (UA PhD 2013).

Workshop participants enjoying a drink
after some hard work.






10th Annual Arizona Methods Workshops
March 21stand 22nd  (Saturday/Sunday) 2020

The Arizona Methods Workshops are hosted by the School of Sociology at the University of Arizona. The goal of the event is to share the methodological expertise of our school, college and discipline with the wider community of social scientists. The workshop topics and instructors vary from year to year. The workshops are small and offer time for practical, hands-on work. The atmosphere is informal and is enhanced by optional social events (lunch, happy hour) that allow participants, instructors, as well as UA Sociology faculty and students time to mingle.

This year the ASA methods section is organizing and co-hosting a mid-year meeting (on the theme "Replication and Rigor") to be held in Tucson March 20, 2020, in conjunction with the Arizona Methods Workshops which runs from March 21-22, 2020.

You can register here.

About the Workshops and Instructors  |  Lodging Information | Flyer | Registration


Social Network Analysis, James Moody (Duke)

Introduction to Sequence Analysis, Katherine Stovel (University of Washington),

Observing and Analyzing Everyday Behavior, Martín Sánchez-Jankowski (UC Berkeley)


Qualitative Data Analysis with ATLAS.ti, Corey M. Abramson (University of Arizona)

Practices for Producing Transparent and Reproducible Research, Jeremy Freese (Stanford) 

Introduction to R, Jeffrey Oliver and Keaton Wilson (University of Arizona)











One Workshop








Two Workshops








 *Conference participants save $25/workshop.


Congratulations to the 2020 Scott R. Eliason Award Winners

Anna Bokun (University of Minnesota)
Fernando Clark III (University of Georgia)
Jiaqi Liu (University of California, San Diego)


For more information, contact Corey Abramson, organizer, at Email: