Arizona Methods Workshops

We hope to resume the Arizona Methods Workshops in 2024-25. Information about past workshops can be found below.

Students in Arizona Methods Workshop

About the Methods Workshops

The Arizona Methods Workshops are hosted by the School of Sociology at the University of Arizona. The goal of the event is to share the methodological expertise of our school, college, and discipline with the wider community of social scientists. Topics and instructors vary from year to year but include quantitative, computational, and qualitative offerings. The workshops are small and offer time for practical, hands-on work. The atmosphere is informal and is enhanced by optional social events (lunch, happy hour, pre-workshop lecture) that allow participants, instructors, as well as UA Sociology faculty and students time to mingle.


Registration & Pricing





One Workshop




Two Workshops





Sample Schedule(2020)

The line-up for Fall 2022 is still being finalized. The schedule below, from our planned 10th-year anniversary event (which had to be cancelled due to covid concerns), illustrates the range of workshops we host.

Friday Events

  • American Sociological Association Methodology Section Event
  • No-Host Happy Hour

Morning Workshops (Sat–Sun 8:30—Noon)

  • Social Network Analysis, James Moody (Duke)
  • Introduction to Sequence Analysis, Katherine Stovel (University of Washington),
  • Observing and Analyzing Everyday Behavior, Martín Sánchez-Jankowski (UC Berkeley)

Afternoon Workshops (Sat–Sun 1:30-5pm)

  • Qualitative Data Analysis with ATLAS.ti, Corey M. Abramson (University of Arizona)
  • Practices for Producing Transparent and Reproducible Research, Jeremy Freese (Stanford) 
  • Introduction to R, Jeffrey Oliver and Keaton Wilson (University of Arizona)

Saturday Events

  •  Lunch Event, No-host happy hour


Past Events

See workshop descriptions and instructor bios


Lodging information will be posted closer to the event.

Interested in extending your stay in southern Arizona? Check out these New York Times articles on activities in Tucson:

Scott R. Eliason Award

Congratulations to the 2020 Scott R. Eliason Award Winners

  • Anna Bokun (University of Minnesota)
  • Fernando Clark III (University of Georgia)
  • Jiaqi Liu (University of California, San Diego)