News

Monday, April 14, 2014
12-1p

Social Sciences, Room 415

Social Capital Penalty of being Black: The Structure of Racial Network Segregation

Presenter: Attila Varga Graduate Student
Discussant: Dee Hill Zuganelli,... Read more

Post date: Sun, 04/13/2014 - 12:39

 

Friday, March 14, 2014
12 - 1:30p

Social Sciences, Room 415

This special session of the School of Sociology's weekly brownbag will focus on Professor Greeley's contributions to sociology as discussed by three of his colleagues who knew him very well:

... Read more

Post date: Tue, 03/11/2014 - 05:38

Wednesday, March 12, 2014
12-1p

Social Sciences, Room 415

Coming Out Of The “Other” Closet: Applying The LGBT Experience To Atheists

Presenter: Amanda Schutz, Graduate Student
Discussant: Simone Rambotti, Graduate Student

... Read more
Post date: Sat, 03/08/2014 - 10:32

Friday, March 7, 2014
12-1:15p

Social Sciences, Room 415

​ Finding Voice, Creating Space: Reproductive Justice and UnexpectedMovement Choices

 

... Read more

Post date: Fri, 03/07/2014 - 08:29

 

Relational Discourse of a Political Debate

with Dr. Jan Fuhse
Humbodt University in Berlin and
Visiting Scholar, UA School of Sociology (March 2014)

Tuesday, March 4, 2014
12:30p
Social... Read more

Post date: Wed, 02/26/2014 - 05:52

Congraluations to Robin Stryker, Professor of Sociology, Affiliated Professor of Law, Affiliated Professor of Government and Public Policy, and Research Director of the National Institute for Civil Discourse, who has been selected as one of two winners of... Read more

Post date: Thu, 02/20/2014 - 09:40

The Minor in Care, Health, & Society (CHS) requires a minimum of 18 units. At least 9 units of upper division coursework.

  • CHS 303: Health and Society
  • CHS 305: Suffering and Care in Society
  • CHS 309: Ethical Issues in the Helping Professions
  • SOC 350: Environment, Health & Society
  • CHS 401:... Read more
Post date: Fri, 02/14/2014 - 12:08

The Chicken Trail: Following Workers, Migrants, and Corporations Across the Americas (2013 Cornell University Press), written by Kathleen C. Schwartzman, professor of sociology, explores the impact of globalization—and NAFTA in particular—on the North American poultry industry. It focuses on the displacement of African American workers in the southeast United... Read more

Post date: Wed, 02/12/2014 - 17:28

Monday, February 17, 2014
12 - 1p
Social Sciences, Room 415

Looking for a Social Cancer: Inequality, Poverty, or Both?
Simone Rambotti, Graduate Student

Discussant: Kate Anderson, Graduate Student

Abstract: In 2009... Read more

Post date: Fri, 02/07/2014 - 18:23

Date: Friday, February 7th, 2014
Time: 12 - 1p
Location: Social Sciences, Room 415

​The Social Determinants of Tuberculosis – Theories and Interventions
Eyal Oren, Assistant Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics, University of Arizona

 Abstract: One-third of the world's population is infected with... Read more

Post date: Wed, 02/05/2014 - 17:14

Pages